Board of Education

President - Jeremy Spaw

Vice President- Valerie Cryderman

Treasurer - Karol Shellenbarger 

Secretary - Cindy Sheldon

Trustee -Micheal Reilly

Trustee - Tara Lynch

Trustess - Paul Olmstead



Our mission is to empower all students to be:

● successful, lifelong learners in an ever-changing society, 

● confident and respectful individuals who are able to live safe, happy, and active lives, and 

● responsible citizens who make a positive contribution to their community. 


Hale Area Schools will work as a community to prepare “every student, every day” academically, socially, and emotionally to achieve success for the future. 

Belief:  All students will learn.



Regular Board of Education Meetings are held the third Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at  311 North Washington Street, Hale, Michigan.


The public is invited to attend!

PUBLIC COMMENT AT BOARD MEETINGS: Speakers are asked to express themselves in a civil manner, with due respect for the dignity and privacy of others who may be affected by your comments. 


Hale School Board Policies


Board of Education Positions:

President:  The Board President sets the tone of how the school board will function. The president conducts the board meetings, communicates with the superintendent or other board members, serves as the board spokesperson to the media and the public (unless someone else is identified to be the spokesperson) and appoints standing and ad-hoc committees and chairs.

Vice-President:  The Vice-President presides at board meetings when the president is not there and assumes the office of president in the event of vacancy until a new president is elected.

Secretary:  The secretary is the chief election officer of the school district, records and signs minutes of meetings, orders, resolutions and other proceedings of the board.

Treasurer:  The treasurer has the care of district finances and oversees the receipt and spending of all monies.  The duties of the secretary and treasurer may be delegated to a member of the district's administrative staff.